Return to Satterthwaite Court (Somerset Stories #3) by Mimi Matthews

Genre: Historical Fiction, Romance
Publisher: Perfectly Proper Press
Publication Date: April 2023

Ready to leave behind the adventures and dangers of the battlefield, Lieutenant Charles Heywood returns to England in search of a quiet life. But purchasing the estate that once belonged to his mother’s family proves harder than he expected as secrets and family history unfold.

Lady Katherine Beresford doesn’t fit the role of a proper lady, nor does she want to. Skilled with pistols, on horseback, and at speaking her mind, she has yet to face a challenge she can’t overcome. That is, until she encounters Lt. Heywood. Determined to penetrate Charles’ indifference, Kate decides to help the young man procure the estate he desires. But some quests might be too much even for Kate Beresford.

An exquisite continuation to the Somerset Stories, I held off putting my fingers to the keyboard at a loss for how to do this book justice. My second 5-star read for 2023, Return to Satterthwaite Court snatched my breath, leaving me to float to reader utopia in this beautifully-woven tale of self-discovery and family. To say that I experienced major withdrawal after finishing the book falls short.

Kate caught me by surprise. I know she’s a Mimi Matthews heroine, and yet I still didn’t dream I would love her as much as I did. Strong and independent without becoming a steamroller, Kate embodies what I look for in a character. For that matter, it’s what I loved about both Kate and Charles. Their strength and identity never came at the expense of the other. They became true partners.

As always, the author pens a breathtakingly immersive experience. I can’t read one of her books without becoming completely lost in the setting and storyworld. Though only briefly on the page, James and Hannah (Kate and Charles’ siblings) stole the show for me, and that’s saying something considering how much I loved Kate and Charles. I cannot begin to tell you how desp — errr — eager I am for their story (coming in book 5).

A second-generation tale to the beloved protagonists of The Work of Art (my all-time favorite Matthews book!) and Gentleman Jim, returning fans will be delighted to revisit old characters while meeting new ones. First timers, while Return to Satterthwaite Court can stand alone, if I haven’t convinced you yet, go read the entire series! You won’t regret it!

Review copy provided by author. Thanks!

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.