Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I’d Love to Meet

Who wouldn’t love to meet some of their favorite writers? As an aspiring author, I dream of taking those meetings a step further and turning them into brain-picking sessions. I want to uncover their secrets and discover the tools that have served them so well in creating some of my favorite stories.

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a non-exhaustive list — you don’t want to be here all day, do you? — of some of those authors I’d love to meet in person.

 

1. Catherine West

If you spend any time around me or follow my blog, you’ve probably heard me mention Catherine West on multiple occasions. That’s because I’m completely captivated by her writing style. Her books pretty much check all the boxes my writing profs, mentor, critique partners, etc. tirelessly try to ingrain in me on how to create powerful stories. By the way, her latest novel releases TODAY! Congrats, Cathy! (Review)

 

2. Ronie Kendig

As someone who writes mystery/suspense, a fight scene or two is bound to appear in my WIP (work in progress). However, try as I might, my hero and villain make the three stooges look like fighting experts. (Trust me, that’sย NOT the vibe I’m going for!) Ronie Kendig, fight-scene-writer extraordinaire, has not one, not two, or even three, but FOUR military suspense series under her belt, as well as a serial novel, a romantic suspense story, and more. I would love nothing more than to learn from her knowledge so I can turn my Moe, Larry, and Curly into Jason Bourne and Ethan Hunt. (Review)

 

3. Carla Laureano

I met James MacDonald in 2013. I am still swooning! I love the hero in my WIP, but I want my readers to as well. If the mention of his name still makes them sigh four years later, even better. So yes, I’d like to follow Laureano around until I can figure out her secret. (Review)

 

4. Lisa Gardner

For a hero to truly shine, he needs a worthy opponent, not simply a caricature intended to make him look good. Gardner creates some of the best — albeit bone-chilling — villains I’ve found in fiction. Their complexity, goals, and motivations rival the protagonists’ in strength, making them come to life a little too well. You really don’t want the electricity to go out while immersed in a Gardner novel. (Review)

 

5. Dani Pettrey

As my bookcase attests, my favorite genre is romantic suspense. Pettrey masterfully delivers both emotions. One second I’m pinned to the edge of the seat as someone targets the protagonists, but the next I’m grinning ear to ear as the hero and heroine finally admit their feelings. Of course, two seconds later Pettrey tips the balance again and I return to biting my nails. Her entire book turns into a seesaw of emotions that keep me flipping pages desperate to know what will happen next. (Review)

 

6. Pepper Basham

Humor is not my strong suit. Ask me to write suspense or romance, but please don’t ask me to make a scene funny. It will fall flat on its face. Basham’s unique sense of humor shines through her stories. Not a single page goes by where I don’t laugh at least once. I’m hoping that, if I could hang out with her, maybe a bit of that humor would rub off on me. (Review)

 

7. Liz Johnson

Though a new-to-me author last year, Johnson penned one of my favorite 2016/7 series the Prince Edward Island Dreams. I’d treasure the opportunity to quiz her on all things romance and exotic locations. (Review)

 

8. Sarah Sundin

Historical fiction has never been one of my go-to genres. Yet ever since I read With Every Letter, not only am I first in line to read every new Sundin novel, they have consistently been favorites. I don’t just like her stories, I LOVE them. I’m curious how she does that so I can hopefully accomplish the same with my own writing. (Review)

 

9. Jane Austen

From here on out, I’ve listed authors I won’t be meeting in this lifetime. However, how could I not include my all-time favorite author — the one who gave me Pride and Prejudice, Persuasion, Emma…and some of the most swoon-worthy heroes in all of history.

 

10. Elizabeth Gaskell

John Thornton. Enough said!

 

 

 

 

 

11. L. M. Montgomery

I tried to stop at 10. I really did! But I couldn’t close this list without mentioning Lucy Maud. After all, she’s the mastermind behind my first book crush — Gilbert Blythe.

 

What authors do you dream of meeting?

Save

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I’d Love to Meet

  1. Maud Montgomery is on my list too! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d love to meet you in person, too, Eli! What a treat to be included on your list. Thank you!

    • Anne first ignited my desire to visit Canada. I still havenโ€™t gone and my reasons for wanting to have increased, but somedayโ€ฆ

      • I was staying with a host family in Japan last year, and when they found out I was from Canada they got so excited because Anne is so popular there! Of course, I’m from the far other side of the country, and still haven’t been to PEI… ๐Ÿ˜‰

        • I can’t judge you too harshly for not making it to PEI yet. I have visited more places outside of my country than in it. Even places that are close to me and not on the other side of the country. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I am so GLAD that you mentioned L.M. Montgomery. I remember one day realizing what an amazing author she was and then I read every single book of hers. I was so sad when I ran out of books to read…but, Gilbert? You liked him. I’m still very much the Anne that smashed him over the head with the thing-a-ma-jig-i-can’t-remember-the-word…slate?

    Hmmmm, I don’t know all these authors but those I have read…I definitely agree with you on!

    • What?! You didn’t like Gilbert?? At least I won’t have to fight you for him…oh wait! He’s fictional and taken. lol

  3. I suppose you wouldn’t mind meeting Richard Armitage either ๐Ÿ˜‰ LOL!! THanks so much for including me on this list of amazing authors whose stories are CAPTIVATING!!!! I absolutely love the way Cathy West writes too! Powerhouse of emotions!! And though I’m not a “suspense” gal, you’ve chosen some amazing authors of the genre for your list.

    Thanks so much, Eli!!!

    • Mind? Why would I mind?! Excuse me while I go dream about that meeting for a minute. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      You’re welcome. Thank you for sharing #FarmerReese with us!

    • *Sigh* If only I could! It would be awesome!! I’m hoping they’ll host CFRR in Spain one year. Who wouldn’t love to discuss books by the Mediterranean? A girl can dream, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

