Bookish Question #2

Bookish-questionThank you for all the great answers you submitted last Thursday. How fun to see that family influenced a lot of us!

This week, I thought we could continue getting to know each other with another good introductory question.

What kinds of stories/genres are you drawn to? Do you steer clear of any?

I tend to gravitate toward mystery, suspense, and romance novels. I especially like books that combine all three. As far as ones I stay away from … I avoid horror and erotica.

eli-signature

 

Guardar

12 thoughts on “Bookish Question #2

  1. Like you, I gravitate toward mystery, suspense, & romance– but I also really love historical! And I tend to steer clear of sci-fi, fantasy, & dystopian. I would say that I steer clear of horror as well, but I’ve been told that many of Frank Peretti’s & Ted Dekker’s books are considered horror. Never would have considered them that, myself, but… whatever.
    Also, since I much prefer clean Christian fiction, I usually avoid non-Christian books unless I know them to be clean.

    • I tried a Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker book once…I didn’t make it through the whole thing. So I can see why they’d be considered horror. I’m with you on the sci-fi, fantasy, and dystopian.

      • If you’re talking about the one that they wrote together… I like to describe that book as being the worst of each of those guys put together in one book. Definitely not one I would recommend. :/
        I just always considered horror to be something scarier than most of their books that I read. *shrug*

        • Yes, that’s the one. I can’t remember what it was called. I haven’t read their other works, so I can’t really compare. I did read Dekker’s A.D. 30 and really liked it, but that’s very different (from what I understand) so I still can’t compare it to their “horror” books.
          I have to take your word on this subject because I can only go off hearsay…and we know that’s not realiable.

  2. I gravitate most toward historical fiction, but I also really enjoy well-written biblical and supernatural fiction. I do have a hard time getting into sci-fi, and even dystopian stories.

    • Then your reading is probably more well rounded than mine. 🙂 I have to push myself to read outside of my go-to genres.

      • I see it as more of a… “I have no idea what I’m doing, I just read whatever I stumble upon that interests me” 😀 I probably do have preferences there but I just don’t really pay attention to that, so I don’t know 😛

  3. I have always gravitated towards historical things – including romance and especially anything medieval Scotland or Ireland. I think I was born in the wrong time! I am also partial to a good mystery and suspense romance. The puzzle of the story makes me smile. Sherlock? YES, to die for.
    Same as you I stay away from horror and erotica – no need for that in my head! I am also not a huge fan of futuristic reads, but there are a few I have read that I was ok with.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

