Top Ten Tuesday: All Time Favorite Classics

All time favorites? Seriously, what were the ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish thinking when they chose this week’s topic? In the words of Danielle de Barbarac in Ever After, “I could no sooner choose a favorite star in the heavens.”

Alas, I will give it my best shot … in no particular order except for number one. 😉 For the most part, I’ve tried to stay away from books I’ve mentioned in recent TTTs.

pride-prejudice-persuasion(1) Pride and Prejudice (2) Persuasion by Jane Austen: As tempted as I am to make 1-6 Austen’s books, I’ve limited myself to two. Trust me, this was no small feat. It almost feels sacrilegious to not include Mansfield Park, and Sense and Sensibility, and … okay, you get the idea.

north-and-south

john-thornton-richard-armitage

Photo credit: Pinterest

(3) North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell: *Sigh* Mr. Thornton, need I say more? If you don’t know what that means, you should definitely read the book and watch the BBC mini series with Richard Armitage. Goodness, does that man know how to make a girl swoon!

Psst, I will just leave this here. You’re welcome!

exodus

 

(4) Exodus by Leon Uris: A historical fiction account surrounding the establishment of the State of Israel, this story is as riveting as it is heart-wrenching. **Random tidbit: I named my dog, Ari, after the main character in this novel.

agnes-grey-the-tenant-of-wildfell-hall(5) Agnes Grey  (6) The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte: Though Anne tends to be one of the lesser-known Bronte sisters, I’ve found her books to be my favorites. However, I must confess, I didn’t care for The Tenant of Wildfell Hall too much the first time around. It wasn’t until the second reading, when I understood the story and characters better, that I realized how great it is.

jane-eyre(7) Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte: I have a love-hate relationship with this book. Jane’s steadfastness and morals draw me in, while Mr. Rochester manages to anger me. I understand what he saw in the governess, but sometimes I really struggle to see what pulled her to him. Yet, at the end of the day, no matter how much I’d like to throttle Mr. Rochester or tell Jane to find someone better, I can’t deny I’m captivated by their tale.

little-women-the-inheritance(8) Little Women (9) The Inheritance by Louisa May Alcott: Little Women was a childhood favorite, even though I always believed Jo married the wrong guy. I also read Little Men, though not as many times. In college, I discovered another Alcott story — The Inheritance — and it quickly scaled toward the top of my list.

the-phantom-of-the-opera(10) The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux: I own the Gerard Butler movie, I love the music, and in college I was blessed to go with friends to experience the play at Broadway in Chicago, but as always so much is lost from the book. Phantom shippers, the film makes him a lot more sympathetic.

Phew! That was hard, and because misery loves company — or so they say — what are your all time favorites? If you don’t like/read classics, pick another genre.

eli-signature

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

Guardar

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: All Time Favorite Classics

  1. You reminded me that I started Phantom of the Opera a few years ago and never finished it! Can’t remember why I put it down now…probably a book club book…but I should pick it up again. I’m likely the only weirdo that would have Wuthering Heights at the top of her classics picks. 😉

    • You should! I’d love to hear your thoughts once you read it.

      At least people know what Wuthering Heights is and more have read it. Most people I talk with don’t know of Agnes Grey.

  2. Those are my two fave Austen books as well – P&P for the story and Persuasion for the quotes 😀 But they are all excellent. I admire your restraint in limiting yourself to two 😉 Another of my favorite classics is A Tale of Two Cities by Dickens.

    My TTT

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

