Top Ten Tuesday: More Books? Yes, Please!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday — more like top 13 because who can narrow it down?– topic is Books You’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed You A Fully Loaded Gift Card.

Emily-of-new-moon(1.) Emily of New Moon (2.) Emily’s Quest and (3.) Emily’s Climb by L.M. Montgomery: A childhood favorite, Anne of Green Gables stole my heart as she did many young and young-at-heart readers. After devouring the series, I searched for more by this author. I found Emily of New Moon at a local library, but they didn’t have the other two in the trilogy. They’ve been on my wish list ever since.

dancingwithfireflies(4.) Dancing with Fireflies by Denise Hunter: Though, I read it on my Kindle, I really want a hard copy of this book because let’s be honest, nothing tops the feel and scent of real pages. (See my thoughts.)

Count-of-Monte-Cristo(5.) The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexander Dumas: Much to my chagrin, I read an abridged version in middle school. The sales person assured me it was the complete story, and I was young and gullible. I’m no longer bitter about it — well, not too much anyway — but am ready to experience the complete story nonetheless.

daniel-deronda(6) Daniel Deronda by George Eliot: A classic with a Jewish heroine. What’s not to love? I accidentally stumbled across the BBC movie a while ago, loved it, and have wanted to read the book ever since.

the-emotion-thesaurus(7) The Emotion Thesaurus by Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi: As a writer, Ackerman and Puglisi’s thesaurus collection has helped me immensely, but the emotion installment is by far my favorite. I hope to add a copy to my bookshelf someday.

the-bourne-trilogy(8) The Bourne Identity (9) The Bourne Supremacy (10) The Bourne Ultimatum by Robert Ludlum: The Bourne Trilogy is one of my all-time favorites as one can easily deduce from the well-wornloved state of my copies.

charles-dickens(11) Little Dorrit (12) David Copperfield by Charles Dickens: If you hadn’t noticed from this list, I love classics. These are two tales I have sadly yet to experience off the screen.

agnes-grey(13) Agnes Grey by Anne Bronte: My apartment flooded a while back and I lost a lot of my books, including one of my Bronte favorites, Agnes Grey.

What about you? What book(s) would you run out to buy if someone handed you a gift card?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: More Books? Yes, Please!

  1. So fun to see you joining Top Ten Tuesday meme’s, Elizabeth. 🙂

    I have the HUGE version of ‘Monte Cristo’ but haven’t read it because it intimidates me like nobody’s business. Yeah. It’s huge.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

