Top Ten Tuesday: Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them

I want to try something new — well, new for me! After months of seeing Top Ten Tuesday posts pop up on a lot of my bookish friends’ blogs, I decided to investigate. What can I say? I’m slow. I discovered that the fun ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish share their past and future themes, and I simply couldn’t resist joining the party.

Today, I’ve compiled a combination of adult and childhood favorites that have made me want to do or learn something.

the-story-keeper

(1.) The Story Keeper by Lisa Wingate: Thanks to Wingate and Jennia-Beth, more than ever I want to work as an editor for a publishing company. I wouldn’t mind a trip to the Appalachia either. Or falling in love with a handsome writer. Am I asking too much? (See my thoughts.)

the-red-door-innanne-of-green-gables(2.) Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery and (3.) The Red Door Inn by Liz Johnson: Aside from being one of my favorite childhood series (and providing me with my first book crush — Oh Gilbert!), Anne of Green Gables first ignited my desire to visit Prince Edward Island. The Red Door Inn not only fanned that flame, now I also want to run a B&B with themed bedrooms. I’m thinking a lighthouse and bookish room for starters. What do you suggest? (Read my review of The Red Door Inn.)

Christy

 

(4.) Christy by Catherine Marshall:  One of my teenage favorites, this story inspired me to become a teacher, as well as tutor underpriviledged kids. Christy also had my second book crush — David Grantland! Yes, I was and always will be Team David. Sorry, Neil shippers.

whenthesmokeclearstwilight

 

(5.) Twilight by Kristen Heitzmann and (6.) When the Smoke Clears by Lynette Eason: These two stories made me want to learn more about firefighting. I’m now on the hunt for books with an arson investigator for protagonist. (See my thoughts on When the Smoke Clears.)

little-house-prairie

(7.) Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder: An oldie for sure. After reading this book, series actually, I wanted nothing more than to hop in a covered wagon and head into uncharted territory. Can you imagine eating every night around a campfire or sleeping under the stars?sweetmisfortune

(8.) Sweet Misfortune by Kevin Alan Milne: Owning a chocolate shop sounds like fun (if not dangerous for the waistline); but more than that, I love the idea of writing fortune cookie messages. (Read my review.)

the-boxcar-childrenthegardenthief(9.) The Boxcar Children and (10.) The Garden Thief by Gertrude Chandler Warner: Whether I read them as a child or as an adult, the Alden siblings always made me want to try or learn new things, from living in a boxcar in the woods to growing my own vegetable garden. (See my review of The Boxcar Children movie and The Garden Thief.)

 

Now it’s your turn. What books have made you want to do or learn something?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things Books Have Made Me Want To Do or Learn About After Reading Them

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

