Undaunted Hope (Beacons of Hope #3) by Jody Hedlund

Undaunted-HopeGenre: Romance, Historical Fiction
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
Publication Date: January 2016

When Tessa Taylor left her home in search of adventure, she swore she’d never set foot in another lighthouse. Everything seems to look up when Tessa accepts a teaching position in the Upper Peninsula, Michigan. That is, until she arrives only to discover the town requested a male teacher and hired Tessa by mistake. With winter quickly approaching and unable to find a replacement, the superintendent agrees to let her stay on just for that year.

Determined to prove she’s as good as any male teacher, Tessa plunges herself into the job. It doesn’t take long for a couple of her students to decide she’d make the perfect wife for their grieving, widowed father. On the other hand, their uncle, Alex Bjorklund, has feelings of his own for the beautiful teacher and intends to woo her before his brother can. However, the brothers face one major obstacle, as the lighthouse keepers, Tessa wants nothing to do with either.

Undaunted Hope delivers a story of love amidst adversity, and hope amidst darkness. Jody Hedlund propelled the conflict and tension to new heights in the strongest installment to date in the Beacons of Hope series.

Tessa’s spunky personality and tenacious nature immediately drew me to her. The entertaining banter between Tessa and Alex quickly made them my favorite couple so far. For someone who thrives on speaking her mind and following her heart, Tessa’s struggle to choose between the two brothers got old. She realized early on whom she cared for romantically, making her fluctuation seem out of character and frustrating. Percival Updegraff, the superintendent, is the kind of character readers love to hate. Just saying his name causes revulsion.

As with the previous novels, Hedlund beautifully brought to life the triumphs and challenges of lighthouse living. I, for one, can’t get enough of the setting and am ready to pack my bags and move into a lighthouse.

While the novel easily stands alone, certain events hold greater significance to those who have followed the entire collection, especially toward the end when the story comes full circle.

In the vein of When Calls the Heart and Christy, fans of either will enjoy the dramatic continuation to the Beacons of Hope series.

Review copy provided by publisher. Thanks!

Advertisements

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s