Why I Read

Have you ever wished you could do a million different things? Unfortunately, or fortunately, we only have one life to live. Time, money, and skills don’t always allow us to do everything we want.

I once saw a quote, “We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us.” The same rings true for reading. I read not to escape life, but to live it to the fullest. While time and resources force me to choose between the dreams I pursue and the ones I let go, books allow me to travel all those paths and more.

the-story-keeperSometimes I wonder what it would be like to be an editor at an established publishing house. How would it feel to discover the next bestseller? The Story Keeper by Lisa Wingate helped me do just that.

Scotland has long ranked high on my “to-visit” list. I’d be lying if said I didn’t imagine what it five-days-in-skyemight be like meeting a handsome local with a killer smile and dreamy Scottish accent. Five Days in Skye by Carla Laureano accomplished that. To make it even better, the hero, James, is a world-renowned chef, which fed the foodie in me and catered to my fairy-tale dream.

conspiracy-of-silenceWhat would it be like to be a hero who can kick some major rear end and save the world? What if I could meet a Mossad agent? Or be a spy? Robert Ludlum’s Jason Bourne and Ronie Kendig’s Rapid-Fire Fiction novels allow me to do all of the above from the safety of my couch.

Regarding my dream of running a B&B, I’ve gone as far as imagining the-red-door-innhow I would decorate the rooms and what themes I would follow. Thanks to Liz Johnson’s The Red Door Inn, I not only experienced bringing a B&B to life, I also traveled to Prince Edward Island — another location on my “to-visit” list.

When it comes to novels, I can be anyone, do anything, and go anywhere. Books know no bounds. That is one reason why I read.

Why do you read? What books have helped you fulfill some of your dreams?

13 thoughts on “Why I Read

  1. I live in the far back corner of the planet (New Zealand), so do a lot of travelling through the novels I read, but I also love fiction for the way it introduces me to different cultures and different ways of thinking.

    • Yes! I love experiencing different cultures and even time periods. Novels really do broaden our horizons, no matter what corner of the world we’re in.

  2. I haven’t commented in quite a while….too many medical things to deal with to count! But, I’m on the road to recovery and trying to get back into my “routine”. I haven’t read many books over the past 25+ years, raising 5 children and working two jobs doesn’t leave much time for the pleasure of reading. I’m looking forward to having some “time” this summer, so who knows….. I agree with your statement fully in regards to reading, traveling, and more!! You never know where the next book will take you, so enjoy the adventure.

    • I’m sorry to hear that. I’m glad you are on the road to recovery. Hopefully, you’ll have some time to relax now.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

