Cold Shot (Chesapeake Valor #1) by Dani Pettrey

11390175_593843014052398_9136960408399833584_nGenre: Mystery, Suspense, Romance
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
Publication Date: February 2016

Former SWAT-team sniper Griffin McCray lives a mostly quiet life as a Gettysburg park ranger. When he stumbles across relic hunters uncovering skeletal remains near Little Round Top, Griffin’s life plunges into chaos. Not only does the discovery force him to work with Finley Scott — the captivating forensic anthropologist he’s done his best to avoid — it also places her in the crosshairs when she determines the body belongs to a modern-day victim. With the clues pointing to a skilled sniper, Griffin must confront his past and rely on his former training to keep Finley safe.

Cold Shot opens Dani Pettrey’s new series, Chesapeake Valor, with an exhilarating combo of action, intrigue, and romance. Realistic characters with compelling stories captivate the reader and keep him/her invested for the long haul. The author intertwined the past and present beautifully in Griffin’s thread, making the story pop to life. The reader can empathize with the haunted hero as he fights not only to keep the woman he cares for alive, but also to stop history from repeating itself.

With her characteristic descriptions, Pettrey dropped me alongside the characters as the tale unfolded. I felt the cold and wet Chesapeake air, heard the whizzing bullets, and experienced the tense journey much like if in the middle of an NCIS or Bones episode.

While the Alaskan Courage series remains my favorite (can anyone really compete with the McKennas?), I am enjoying this new adventure and getting to know the group of former best friends. Although the mystery in Cold Shot wraps up nicely, I still have questions that have me itching to get my hands on the second installment. Romantic suspense and Pettrey fans alike will want to race to get a hold of this novel.

Review copy provided by publisher. Thanks!

 

4 thoughts on “Cold Shot (Chesapeake Valor #1) by Dani Pettrey

  1. Eli, thank you so much for your wonderful review! I agree– I’m so looking forward to the upcoming books, and learning more about some of those ongoing mysterious story threads. Thank you again for being so wonderful, Eli!

  2. LOVElovelove this novel. It got off to a great start, and I cannot believe I’m saying this, but I *think* it might even rival my favorite Pettrey novel, “Submerged.” 😉 GREAT review.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

