Falling Like Snowflakes (A Summer Harbor Novel #1) by Denise Hunter

falling-like-snowflakesGenre: Romance
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Publication Date: September 2015

Fearing for her life, Eden Martelli goes on the run with her five-year-old son, Micah. When their vehicle breaks down in Summer Harbor, Eden is forced to hunker down and wait out Christmas. But without money or a place to stay, the holiday season looks bleak.

Still struggling with the loss of his parents, Beau Callahan has taken over managing his family’s Christmas tree farm. Already juggling a packed schedule, his spirited aunt is coming home from the hospital and needs a caregiver for a few weeks. When Eden rolls into town, Beau believes he has found the perfect solution.

Though Eden hates staying that long in one place, she accepts the job. Caring for Aunt Trudy will mean food and a place to stay for her and Micah, as well as provide the money needed to fix the car. However, Eden didn’t count on the Callahan family wiggling their way into her heart—especially the oldest sibling.

Falling Like Snowflakes opens Denise Hunter’s new series with a quick and entertaining read. While I love Hunter’s novels and she’s one of my favorite Christian authors, Falling Like Snowflakes didn’t quite live up to her other novels.

Eden’s plight tugged at the my heart-strings and suckered me in. However, the event that rendered her penniless wasn’t believable. I don’t want to give away too much, but as someone on the run, especially with her past, Eden’s action was completely out of character.

I also struggled connecting with Beau. The love triangle in the beginning detracted from the story. Though he didn’t do anything wrong per say, he became too emotionally involved and focused too much on Eden while he still had a girlfriend. Instead of feeling warm and fuzzy as feelings developed between Beau and Eden, my heart went out to Paige (the girlfriend). It made it hard for me to see Beau as the wonderful and caring guy he was portrayed to be. Again, I don’t want to spoil any details, but the way Paige tied into the Callahan family did nothing to help Beau’s case. Rather, it made him appear like a clueless and somewhat self-centered guy. This didn’t fit with the man who sacrificed everything for his family.

If not for these things, Eden and Beau were a good fit for each other and I did want everything to work out for them in the end. If I hadn’t liked them as much as I did, the aforementioned might not have bugged me as much. I loved Micah and watching him come out of his shell. Beau was definitely good for him.

Hunter set up the secondary cast beautifully so I am eagerly awaiting the next installment of the Summer Harbor series. I can’t wait to find out more about Riley, Zach, and Paige.

Review copy provided by publisher. Thanks!

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

