Bones Never Lie (Temperance Brennan #17) by Kathy Reichs

BonesNeverLieCalled in to Charlotte PD’s Cold Case Unit, Dr. Temperance Brennan comes face-to-face with a past that has plagued her nightmares. More than a decade ago, Anique Pomerleau kidnapped and murdered a string of young girls in Canada before she evaded capture, vanishing without a trace. But, Tempe has never forgotten the one who got away.

After years of silence, several cold cases surge. Girls have been taken and murdered thousands of miles from each other, but all seem to link back to one person — Anique. When another child goes missing, Temperance vows to find and stop the depraved killer once and for all. However, as Temperance encounters dead ends on all sides and uncovers more questions than answers, the cunning psychopath just may slip through Tempe’s fingers a second time if she can’t piece together the clues before Anique disappears, or worse yet, kills again.

Our beloved forensic anthropologist returns as savvy and determined as ever — if not more so — in Bones Never Lie. Kathy Reichs, master at building suspense and breaking down the complex world of anthropology, raises the bar exponentially with her strongest novel to date. I loved matching wits with Temperance as together we raced to stop a vicious murderer with ties to the U.S. and Canada.

Although I figured out certain twists (I won’t give specifics to avoid spoilers) fairly early on in the game, they by no means detracted from the story. A lesser writer might have stopped with those, but not Reichs. The author consistently deepened the mystery and upped the ante, providing one whiplashing turn after another, never letting me fully settle into one theory without upending everything I believed I knew. By the end, I discovered that I’d barely scratched the surface of the tangled web weaved by conniving and depraved minds.

To the joy of long-time fans, Andrew Ryan resurfaces in Bones Never Lie after scarcely gracing the past few novels with his presence. But don’t worry, Reichs makes up for his absence and, more than ever, I’m itching to get my hands on the next installment. A year between releases is just too long to wait before continuing the journey.

Chock-full of intrigue, compelling characters, vivid writing, and a breakneck pace combine to create the perfect recipe for an edge-of-the-seat, psychological thriller that captivates the reader, drawing him/her deep into Tempe’s world. Fans of Brennan and Reichs won’t want to miss this adventure. As with all her novels, readers should be prepared for some strong language and mature themes.

Review copy provided by publisher. Thanks!

**Originally posted on Life is Story.

 

Advertisements

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s