Here to Stay by Melissa Tagg

heretogstayGenre: Romance
Publisher: Bethany House Publishers
Publication Date: May 2014

Guilt and pain have kept Blake “Blaze” Hunziker far from Whisper Shore. But, the time has come to face his past, and so the prodigal son returns. Uncertain of what he’ll find, Blake definitely didn’t expect the open-armed welcome or the job offer he encountered. However, the job is only his if he manages to pull together the annual Christmas festival that has been slowly dying for years. There is only one problem, Blake knows nothing about organizing events, and the only person who could help him is a Kingsley, who are the Capulets to the Hunziker’s Montagues.

Autumn Kingsley dreams of faraway lands and adventure but she is stuck in Whisper Shore running her family’s dying inn. Struggling to make ends meet and keep the old place from crumbling, the last thing she needs is the added responsibility of helping Blake plan the festival. However, a potential investor is due to visit and winning him over could not only save the inn but free Autumn to accept a job offer in Paris and finally pursue her dream of traveling. With only a couple weeks to prepare for the visitor, Autumn accepts Blake’s deal to help him organize the town’s event in exchange for repairs around the inn.

As Blake and Autumn’s lives intersect, new and often complicated emotions surface as preconceived notions dissolve and they discover the real person behind the name. Secrets, family members and unfulfilled dreams will test their budding attraction as they confront the question of what is truly important to them.

An intriguing tale of forgiveness, discovery and second chances unfolds within the pages of Here to Stay. Blaze first captivated my interest in Melissa Tagg’s debut novel, Made to Last, quickly claiming his spot as my favorite character. I eagerly awaited the opportunity to learn more about his story and background. The author didn’t disappoint, raising the bar exponentially with Blake and Autumn’s journey. Tagg created characters I could truly connect and relate to, immersing me fully into their story.

Autumn often felt like a mirror reflection of myself — a bookworm with hopes of seeing the world. I easily imagined myself slipping into her shoes. Blake was exactly the kind of guy a girl could picture herself falling for — strong, loyal and caring. The quaint setting of Whisper Shore simply sealed the deal for me. I would have happily stayed to run the Kingsley Inn. Alas, reality and the end of the book, made it impossible.

I strongly recommend Here to Stay to romance fans who enjoy escaping to another place for a few hours. Whisper Shore is one town you’ll want to visit. For those of you who liked Made to Last, just wait until you get your hands on this one!

Review copy provided by the publisher. Thank You!

**Originally posted on Radiant Lit.

6 thoughts on “Here to Stay by Melissa Tagg

  1. Great review, Elizabeth! I’m getting so eager to read/review this one. (Can’t just yet because of other reads first.) I’ve no doubt it’ll be as gorgeous on the inside as the out. Cannot wait! 🙂

    • There are several really good books coming out this summer. I’ve greatly enjoyed reading them. Reviews to a couple more favorites are coming soon!

    • I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did! I loved Whisper Shore. It reminded me a bit of Mackinac Island…the romantic, small town charm it had going. In my mind, the Hunziker’s hotel looked an awful lot like the Grand Hotel. 😉

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

