Interview: Kate Breslin, Author of For Such a Time

Kate-BreslinI love the Biblical story of Esther. It’s one of my favorites. So, I’m especially thrilled to have author Kate Breslin with us today. I am currently reading (and loving!) her debut novel, For Such a Time, which makes sharing a bit of its background with you that much more exciting!

What is For Such a Time about?

For Such a Time is my first novel. It’s a historical romance, a retelling of the biblical Book of Esther in a more modern venue. In fact, the story takes place in Theresienstadt, a transit camp for prisoners bound for Auschwitz during WWII.

What inspired you to write this story?

The idea actually came to me as I was reading Queen Esther’s story. I knew the Jewish people
had suffered at the hands of one society or another throughout history, and as I observed
similarities between the wicked Haman’s plot to destroy the Jews and Hitler’s Holocaust of
WWII, I wondered if I could overlay this biblical work onto that more modern setting.

The holocaust is a difficult subject to write about. Please share with us a bit about your journey. Was it what you expected?

I had no idea how emotional, or spiritual, writing this novel would be for me. I knew little about
WWII when I began researching, and so the stories I read of Nazi brutality versus the courage
and faith-keeping of those who faced death moved me as nothing else could. As I wrote, I was
also compelled to seek my own answers to the big question of “Why?” I knew I had to write this
book by treating the issue of the Holocaust with the solemnity it deserved, while crafting my
fictional storyline.

What do you hope readers take away from this book?For-Such-A-Time-Kate-Breslin

I’m so glad you asked! I hope they will gain better insight into the events that took place during
this time in WWII history. And that love combined with faith in God is the most powerful force
on earth; having both makes anything possible.

This is your debut novel. How long have you been writing?

A very long time! I started my writing career composing poems as a child. I made cards,
scribbled my prose on stationery, notebook paper, etc., anything I could get my hands on when
inspiration struck. And if I misbehaved, I’d apologize by writing a poem to my mom and
tucking it beneath her pillow so she’d find it when she awoke in the morning. Believe it or not,
that usually worked! I went on after that to write a few short stories and song lyrics before I
began tackling novel writing.

Can you give us a snapshot of your writing life? Do you have a special nook or retreat you escape to while writing?

I have a lovely office upstairs in our home that faces the bay and is accessible by a spiral staircase.
Perfect for inspiration! I have tons of books in my library and all things historical on my walls—
ancient Scottish weaponry, old maps, even a framed Celtic cross. It’s here in my little sanctuary
that I surf the internet or read to gather my research, and then write a working synopsis. Once I
sit down and begin typing, I usually write several hours a day, six days a week. My cat Coco lends
a hand when she thinks I need a break by standing in front of my computer screen until I gradually
surface from my fictional fog.

What is next for you? Do you have any other stories in the works?

Ah, yes, I’m very excited about my next novel. It’s another inspirational romance, one which
takes place in Britain during WWI. The release date is April 2015. Most of my research is
finished, and I’m happily typing away!

Thank you for stopping by, Kate! I’m looking forward to learning more about your next novel as the release date approaches.

Friends, keep your eyes open for my review of For Such a Time. In the meantime, don’t miss this video to learn more about her and this great story!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Interview: Kate Breslin, Author of For Such a Time

    • I think this book is turning out to be one of my favorite retellings of Esther so far. Probably because it’s not trying to pass as the actual story but what it might have looked like if it occurred during WWII.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

