Dancing With Fireflies by Denise Hunter

dancingwithfirefliesGenre: Romance
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Publication DateMarch 2014

Jade McKinley fled Chapel Springs, desperate for a new start, free of painful memories and a tragic past. She had no intention of returning. However, a year later she’s pregnant, penniless, and with nowhere to go but home. Nonetheless, she is resolved to do whatever it takes to stand on her own two feet and take care of her little one when he or she arrives. But going home isn’t that easy. In fact, going home pregnant threatens to harm someone dear to her. So she attempts to temporarily hide her pregnancy from her family and those around her.

Daniel Dawson has loved Jade for years. But, his status as an honorary McKinley family member has relegated him to the “brother zone.” Jade’s departure crushed him, but now she’s back, wrecking havoc on his heart once more. Worse yet, she begs him to find and set her up with suitable dates. Much to his chagrin, he agrees, hoping to a least keep an eye on his competition. Behind Jade’s somewhat odd requests, Daniel discovers something deeper lying at the roots, and he is determined to walk by her side, no matter the cost to himself or his heart. In the process, old emotions are stirred and new ones awakened while trust and faith are pushed to the limit as insecurities and fears bubble to the surface.

Where do I even begin? The compelling storytelling, vivid imagery, and authentic characters that have captivated me in Denise Hunter’s novels are more present than ever in her latest book, Dancing with Fireflies. After only a few chapters, I knew this story would make my list of favorites for 2014. I gulped down the book like someone guzzling a glass of cold water on a hot summer day.

Daniel is the kind of guy every girl dreams of. He is loyal, loving, protective, and need I mention handsome! He stole my heart (and kept it!) almost as soon as he walked onto the page. Jade, on the other hand, is an incredibly strong person who despite experiencing the unthinkable manages to overcome and shine. Between the two, they ensure the reader is invested for the long haul.

Dancing with Fireflies is a tale that made me want to dance as I not only read but experienced the story. I loved returning to Chapel Springs and spending time with (and getting to know better) the characters that enchanted me in the first book of the series, Barefoot Summer. This is one book, or I should say series, that I strongly recommend to Hunter’s fans, as well as anyone who treasures beautiful, faith-filled romances.

**MINOR SPOILER: While I do my best to avoid giving away key information, this is one thing I believe readers should know in advance. Although not revealed on the back of the book, it is discovered in the first chapter that Dancing with Fireflies deals with the sensitive and difficult topic of date rape. The author handles this devastating reality in a delicate and respectful way.

Review copy provided by publisher. Thanks!

**Originally posted on Fiction Addict.

4 thoughts on “Dancing With Fireflies by Denise Hunter

  1. Sounds like a wonerful love story and thanks for the “spoiler”! Someday i will have time to read all the books I am adding to my “list”.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

