Beowulf: Explosives Detection Dog (Book #3 A Breed Apart Series) by Ronie Kendig

beowulfGenre: Military Suspense/Thriller
Publisher: Barbour
Publication Date: January 2014
Reviewed by Elizabeth Olmedo

For years, the only “man” in Timbrel Hogan’s life has been her bullmastiff, and that’s the way she wants it. She has no intention of letting history repeat itself by allowing a male of the human species to enter her life again.

Handsome and persistent, Tony “Candyman” VanAllen refuses to blend into the background. He has his eye on the stubborn and feisty dog handler, and is determined to ensure she gives him a chance. However, before Candyman can even attempt to break through Timbrel’s defenses, he has to find a way past her fiercely loyal and protective four-legged bodyguard.

When tragedy strikes, Timbrel and Candyman’s character, faith, and dreams will be tested to the limit, and their tentative relationship may be doomed before ever making it past go.

Ronie Kendig returns with another stunning, action-packed page-turner. If you enjoy military suspense novels, canine heroes, and lots of action wrapped into a beautiful love story, then Beowulf is for you.

I confess, when I dove into the first page, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Timbrel Hogan is a strong, independent tomboy whose idea of comfort often involves getting dirty and sweaty. She definitely wouldn’t get caught dead in a dress and high heels. Anyone who knows me can attest I’m quite the opposite. For me dressing up is a highlight, not torture. In the beginning, I wondered how much I could relate to Timbrel. I immediately discovered that despite our blatant differences, we also shared a lot in common. I recognized a lot of her fears, insecurities, and dreams. Many of us can understand the simultaneous terror and desire to love and be loved.

Beowulf contains one of my favorite secondary plots out of all of Kendig’s novels. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know Dehqan and watching him change and grow as the story progressed. I don’t want to give anything away, but his story is an intensely gripping and moving journey that will tug at the heart.

Prepare yourself for tears and some very emotional moments in Beowulf. Kendig knows how to bring home some of the horrible realities true-life military men and women encounter every day. It’s hard, if not impossible, to leave a book like this the same way one entered, knowing that some people are living the non-fiction version of this book. Needless to say, I strongly recommend the final installment in the A Breed Apart series.

Review copy provided by publisher. Thanks!

**Originally posted on Fiction Addict.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

