Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre by Jack and Holman Wang

janeeyreGenre: Children’s Books
Publisher: Simply Read Books
Publication Date: November 2013

I have read Jane Eyre and watched every movie version of it that I could get my hands on. So I couldn’t wait to experience the story in a whole new way. Jack and Holman Wang beautifully bring to life the gripping tale of the little girl who grew up unloved and rejected but went on to become a strong and independent woman.

At first, I couldn’t imagine how the authors could condense such a full and incredible story into 12 simple words. And yet they did! Through the exquisitely crafted needle-felted characters, I was once again transported into Jane’s world. I relived her terror as she was locked in the “Red Room,” and her humiliation when punished in front of her school mates. I felt her joy at finally finding love and then the searing pain of loss.

As with all the Cozy Classics, it’s always fun to know the backstory to the charming pictures, but it is not necessary for the enjoyment of the book. Its simplicity allows the young readers to grow with the story and let their imagination run free. Not only are these board books great for hours of entertainment and story-telling, they are also a great teaching tool for teachers looking to enhance their students’ vocabulary.

As long as the Wang brothers continue creating such delightful tales, they will have a fan in me for life. I’m looking forward to reading many more Cozy Classics!

Review copy provided by Turnaround. Thanks!

**Originally posted on Fiction Addict.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

