Simply Delicious Amish Cooking by Sherry Gore

simplydeliciousamishcookingGenre: Cookbook
Publisher: Zondervan
Publication Date: May 2013

Simply Delicious Amish Cooking is just that — simply delicious! It is spiral bound and reminds me of the church cookbooks that I have so often seen in my mother and grandmother’s kitchens. Sherry Gore has put together a mouth-watering compilation of treats that is sure to please everyone in the family. Peppered between the goodness are stories and journal-like entries from the Amish community of Sarasota, Florida.

The broad spectrum of recipes Gore covers is incredible. There are goodies for every meal of the day (including snack time!) and it will take me weeks, if not months, to scratch the surface of this treasure trove. There are sauces, bread, meats, drinks, pies, soups and so much more — even homemade peanut butter and root beer (talk about extensive!).

When I first agreed to review Simply Delicious Amish Cooking, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’d never tried my hand at the Amish cuisine. Now, it’s my go-to book for scrumptious desserts and tasty snacks. So here are just a few of the reasons that have made this cookbook a favorite of mine.

RASPBERRY CHEESECAKE– For years, I have unsuccessfully hunted for the perfect recipe for homemade cheesecake. I finally found it. It is AMAZING. So good in fact, I’ve already made it three times. One of them for a church potluck and everyone loved it.

GRANDMA’S RAISIN OATMEAL COOKIES–I made these for my grandparents’ 60th wedding anniversary party and they turned out to be a major hit with the guests.

PINECRAFT WINTER SALAD–What is not to love about a salad with mandarin oranges, strawberries, cranberries, blue cheese and nuts? The sweet of the fruit, the crunch of the nuts, and the salt of the cheese make for one yummy explosion of flavor.

GRILLED LIME FISH FILLETS–I’d been out running errands all morning and needed something quick and easy to throw together. This fit the bill perfectly. Despite arriving home late, I had nice meal ready in time.

TROPICAL CHICKEN SALAD–This is great for a summer day when you are looking for a light meal. The curry gives the salad a nice little kick.

SHEHERD’S PIE–In our household we love lots of flavor. Because the meat only called for salt, pepper, and Worcestershire sauce I went ahead and added some spices. It turned out really yummy. Definitely something to repeat.

SPICED PRETZELS–Next time I make these, I’m doubling or tripling the ingredients. This salty snack barely made it a day. The pretzels were so good and very addicting.

Needless to say, I love this collection of recipes! They are made up with basic, easy-to-find ingredients so you won’t have to waste time tracking them down in specialty stores or hidden away places. If you are looking for simple and delicious, this is the cookbook for you.

Review copy provided by the publisher. Thank you!

**Originally posted on Radiant Lit.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

