Joni & Ken: An Untold Love Story by Ken & Joni Eareckson Tada (with Larry Libby)

joni_kenGenre: Non-Fiction
Publisher: Zondervan
Publication Date: April 2013

I practically jumped out of my chair when I saw that Zondervan would publish Joni &Ken: An Untold Love Story. I had waited for this moment for years. As a teenager, I read three of Joni’s autobiographies and became fascinated with her story, her strength, and her courage. Ken Tada, the man who won her heart, greatly intrigued me. Who was the man that saw past her disability and the challenges it presented to see the beautiful, Godly woman sitting before him? While most would run from the difficulties and responsibilities of caring for a person with quadriplegia, Ken embraced it as an honor to care for the woman he loved.

Joni &Ken: An Untold Love Story is authentic and gritty. It is life with its ups and downs, with its struggles and victories. It’s not a tale of marriage and living happily-ever-after, but of getting married, facing obstacles, and overcoming them — together. It is about the God who carried Ken and Joni through the darkest moments in their lives.

The stories aren’t recounted in chronological order. Reading the book provided a sense of familiarity as I came to know this incredible couple. I could imagine us sitting around the kitchen table, enjoying  a cup of coffee as Ken and Joni reminisced about their life journey. I walked away feeling like I had gained two friends.

My one disappointment is that they glossed over the early days of their meeting, dating, and marriage. I would have liked to have seen more from that time period, especially since the book is quite short anyways.  Ken made a extraordinary decision when he chose to marry a woman with quadriplegia. I wish they’d shared some of his thoughts and apprehensions as he entered the marriage covenant.

I strongly recommend this book to anyone who has followed the Tada’s story throughout the years or to those who simply enjoy good, faith-filled biographies. It’s definitely a story worth reading. Be prepared for goosebumps!

Review copy provided by the publisher. Thank you!

**Originally posted on Radiant Lit.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

