The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food From My Frontier by Ree Drummond

thepioneerwomancooksGenre: Cookbook
Publisher: William Morrow Cookbooks
Publication Date: March 2012

I love cooking and I love reviewing, so when DHL showed up at my door with Ree Drummond’s Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food from My Frontier, I couldn’t restrain myself from doing a happy dance. Once I managed to tear through the packaging, my excitement only grew as I discovered a goldmine of scrumptious recipes hidden between the covers. Flipping through the cookbook was an experience in and of itself. The beautiful and colorful images that filled the pages, together with the author’s notes and descriptions made me feel like I sat across the table from Drummond discussing recipes like two ol’ family friends.

The visual learner in me thrived with the step-by-step pictures included for each recipe. I could compare my work with what it should look like and make sure I continued on the right track. Drummond also shared photographs of her family, home, etc. adding even more to the overall personal feel of the cookbook.

I also enjoyed how many of the entries had a small section called, “Variations.” In it, the author mentioned possible ingredient substitutions, other dishes it could be paired with, or herbs and spices that could enhance the flavor.

So far, the recipes I’ve tried have secured multiple fans among my family members, but for the sake of time and space, I’ll only share some of the biggest hits.

STEAKHOUSE PIZZA: This one received a unanimous vote of approval in my house. Even my father, who can sometimes be a creature of habit when it comes to food, didn’t seem to have enough good things to say about it.

TRES LECHES CAKE: I sent this cake as a gift to my grandparents when my dad and brother recently went to visit them for a few days. The following morning my brother called begging me to make it for his birthday that was later in the month.

BRIE-STUFFED MUSHROOMS: I love stuffed mushrooms. They are always so delectable when I eat them at restaurants, but so far, I hadn’t found that “perfect” recipe to make at home. Something was always missing. Either they were too dry, or the flavor wasn’t just right. Well, my hunt is finally over! These are simple and very easy to make, but the end result is a moist and tasty stuffed mushroom.

CHICKEN PARMESAN: For some reason, I got it in my head that making chicken parmesan was a complicated and drawn out ordeal. I found it hard to believe that something that looked so good could be easy to prepare. Therefore, I never made it — until now. Let me just say, I loved it! There was something about the slightly sweet sauce, chicken, and pasta that hit the spot. To top it off, it wasn’t hard to make!

These are only a few of the mouth-watering recipes in this book. There are still many more I’m looking forward to trying. Some, like Blackberry Chip Ice Cream, will have to wait until summer. However, it looks so good, I almost want to ignore the fact it’s winter and make it now!

The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food from My Frontier isn’t intended to replace basic cookbooks. It won’t teach you how to boil an egg, how to pick the best veggies and fruit at the market, or the more fundamental recipes. There are other books for that. This one is more of what I would call a fun cookbook. I definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys being creative in the kitchen.

 Review copy provided by the publisher. Thank you!

**Originally posted on Radiant Lit.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

