Restless in Carolina by Tamara Leigh

restlesscarolinaGenre: Romance
Publisher: Multnomah Books
Publication Date: July 2011

“Happily Ever After”

The words inspire anything but happiness in Bridget Pickwick-Buchanan. She is a tree-huggin’ and animal-lovin’ widow who has yet to move past the death of her husband four years earlier. When the family estate is put up for sale, Bridget makes it her mission to find an eco-friendly buyer.

J.C. Dirk, an Atlanta developer known for his green projects, seems like the perfect candidate, if only he would return her calls. Not one to let go or be dissuaded, Bridget makes the trip to Atlanta where she barges in on one of his meetings. Though none too happy by the interruption, J.C’s interest is peaked upon discovering her family name. Before long, J.C. is planted in North Carolina and it seems like more than just the estate is in danger of being handed over to the handsome developer as Bridget fights to keep the reigns in on her heart. But with family ghosts rattling in the closets, real life is much more complicated than in the Little Golden Books she reads to her niece. Bridget has learned all too well that fairy-tale endings are sometimes just that…fairy tales.

Restless in Carolina by Tamara Leigh is a gold mine waiting to be discovered. Picking up the book, little did I know the surprise I was in for. I expected a fairly typical romance that would offer me a few hours of light, heart-warming entertainment. What I got was anything, but typical!

Books that perch in the Christian and romance genres are a double threat for cheesiness and clichés. That is not the case in Restless in Carolina. Faith blended in so unobtrusively. The reader didn’t have to deal with the annoying interruptions often brought on by preachy scenes and/or eye-rolling sappiness that often break the progression of a story. I have never read a novel where the story and characters flowed more smoothly or naturally. Fun, spunky characters kept me in stitches, sometimes even earning me an odd look or two from those around me. This novel quickly procured a position on my favorites list, making me wish I’d discovered Leigh a long time ago. This is third book in the Southern Discomfort Series. While the first two parts aren’t necessary to follow the story, I fully intend on checking them out as well as other novels by Leigh.

This is one book I hated to see come to a close. If I had one word to describe it…AMAZING! I highly recommend Restless in Carolina to anyone who still knows the true meaning of the word romance.

Review copy provided by publisher.

*Originally posted on Fiction Addict.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

