The Clue in the Recycling Bin by Gertrude Chandler Warner

cluerecyclingGenre: Mystery/Children’s Fiction
Publisher: Open Road
Publication Date: March 2011

When a new recycling center comes to Greenfield, more than just reusable trash shows up at the gate. Trouble arrives. Strange things happen and it’s up to Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden to solve the mystery and uncover who is breaking into the “Use it Again Recycling Center.” Along the way, the four children will encounter all sorts of interesting characters —some of which will try to make their task harder.

If your child is at all like I was, he or she devours books faster than the candy that’s stashed away in hiding places around the house. My mother constantly faced the challenge of finding good, clean books to satisfy my voracious appetite. Thankfully, she introduced me to the boxcar children. The Aldens became my best friends. With them, I discovered my love for mysteries. A love that has crossed over into my adult life.

When I came across The Clue in the Recycling Bin, the latest book in the Boxcar Children series, I begged Lori to let me review it. While solving the mystery was easier this time around, as I read the book, my appreciation for the series grew as I realized all the valuable lessons that are intricately woven into the story. While there are common themes throughout all the books such as respect, hard work, and responsibility, each novel is unique. In The Clue in the Recycling Bin the young readers learn about the importance of recycling and protecting our environment.

Parents, this is one book you can feel good about giving your children. Be aware, these stories are like M&Ms, you can never eat just one. Multiple trips to the bookstore or local library may be in your future.

Review copy provided by publisher. Thanks!

**Originally posted on Radiant Lit.

Leave me a note! I always love hearing from you.

